About Me

That Was Then,
This Is Now

by S.E. Hinton

Book Study:


Set in Tulsa, Oklahoma in the late 1960s and serving as a subtle, spiritual sequel to The Outsiders, the story follows a year in the life of Bryon Douglas and his foster brother and best friend, Mark Jennings—two smart-talking, troublemaking teenagers who think they know everything. But over the course of the book, Bryon begins to accept that it’s time to grow up and slowly comes to terms with the fact that he doesn’t have all the answers. He opens himself up to receiving advice from others
(namely Charlie, who owns the local bar), cleans up his act, and gets a respectable job at a grocery store to support the family.


Mark, however, is resistant to growing up, choosing instead to cling to the reckless, self-assured nature of his childhood. As both boys grapple with the change in their lives, Hinton illustrates that coming of age requires humility and taking responsibility—two things that Bryon successfully does and Mark, who clings to his childhood, refuses to do.


Then Bryon faces a terrible decision - one that will change both of their lives forever.


Does growing up have to mean growing apart?


  • Interview with


  • Jaso